(Outdated) Modifying user capabilities to prevent access to GravityView settings
⚠️This article doesn't apply to GravityView version 2.16 (or newer).
This article shows how to clone a user role in WordPress and modify its capabilities.
In this example, we show how to prevent Administrator-level users' access to the GravityView settings page. Use it as a template for modifying other user capabilities in GravityView ( here's a full list).
Click "Add New" under "Plugins"
Search for "Members"
Click "Install Now" to install
Members should be the first result. If not, find it in the search results.
Activate the plugin once installed
Hover over "Users" and click on the new "Roles" submenu
The Roles menu has been added by the Members plugin.
Clone the Administrator role
Add New Role ‹ Local WordPress Dev — WordPress
Click on the GravityView group
You can see all the GravityView capabilities in one spot by clicking on the GravityView tab. You can also see the capabilities in "All" if you want.
Check "Deny" for capabilities you wish to remove
Make sure to check "Deny" for
gravityview_full_access. Users with the
gravityview_full_access capability will automatically have all GravityView capabilities.
In this example, we want to prevent the user from seeing the GravityView Settings page, so we also uncheck
Add the Role
Find the User you want to limit access to
Click their username to edit the User
At the bottom of their profile, select the new User Role
After checking the role checkbox, click "Update User".
Now, if the user attempts to access the settings page…
They'll see this message—and won't see the settings screen.
You can see all users with the new Role
Go to All Users, and you'll see the new role in the role filter list. Click the link to see all users with that role at once.